Loading color scheme

Eating Healthy Again After the Holidays

by Cindy

By Hannah Kaiser

Like so many, I spent the holiday season overindulging in scrumptious foods that, while delicious, were often more fatty, carb-loaded, or sugary than I would like to admit. And while the holidays are a time to gather around a table well endowed with sweets and treats, I’m feeling the weight of all this overeating as the season settles to a close. Ending the year with such a bang is why I believe a number of people make a resolution to be healthier during the New Year. So if you’re feeling like me and want to curb the holiday feasts and indulgences, I’ve compiled a list of healthy recipes you can make to kick start your better eating habits.

Eating healthy doesn’t have to mean one salad after another (although I do have here some unique and delicious salad recipes that are oh so good). There are a number of nutritious recipes out there in every genre of food. 

A good place to start is with soup. In soup, you can easily pack in plenty of vegetables and healthy grains like lentils, and the warm, homey feeling a good bowl of soup offers is perfect for these upcoming winter months. If you’re a fan of Chicken Noodle then you’ll love this Chicken Lemon Rice Soup (https://feelgoodfoodie.net/recipe/chicken-lemon-rice-soup/?utm_medium=social&utm_source=pinterest&utm_campaign=tailwind_tribes&utm_content=tribes&utm_term=655471798_25687412_499116). Hearty vegetables and chicken in a flavorful lemon broth, sign me up! A callback to the Fall, this Black Bean Butternut Squash Stew brings the perfect amount of spice and flavor  (https://healthiersteps.com/recipe/black-bean-butternut-squash-stew/). Or, if you want some Asian flavoring, try this Spicy Ginger Scallion and Egg Drop Zucchini Noodle Bowl (https://inspiralized.com/ginger-scallion-egg-drop-zucchini-noodle-bowl/). And, one of my favorites, I always feel extra healthy after eating this Red Lentil Carrot Soup (https://www.veganfamilyrecipes.com/red-lentil-carrot-soup). The lentils are super rich in fiber and protein, and the use of coconut milk gives the soup a creamy texture.

Make your meal a soup and salad combination with some of these options. These unique salads are more than just your simple House Salad. They’re so good you might even just want to serve them by themselves. This Lemon Garlic Roasted Broccoli Salad combines flavors like crispy broccoli, feta, and pomegranate with a light balsamic and lemon dressing (https://www.halfbakedharvest.com/lemon-garlic-roasted-broccoli-salad/). Or if you want something more sweet, this Kale and Apple Salad with Creamy Coconut Yogurt Dressing brings apples to a whole other level (https://wellandfull.com/2016/03/kale-apple-salad-w-creamy-coconut-yogurt-dressing/?utm_content=buffera3311&utm_medium=social&utm_source=pinterest.com&utm_campaign=buffer). Or, if lettuce does not sound appealing to you, there are plenty of lettuce-less salads, like this Cucumber Salad with Lime Vinaigrette (https://livesimply.me/simple-cucumber-salad-lime-vinaigrette/) or Creamy Potato and Brussels Sprouts Salad (https://omnivorescookbook.com/potato-brussels-sprouts-salad/). Both salads utilize a vegetable other than lettuce as the base to keep the dish full of nutrients.

One health conscious diet is vegetarianism. If you’re already a vegetarian, or plan to become one this year, there are a multitude of delicious recipes for you. These Quinoa Stuffed Peppers (https://wendypolisi.com/quinoa-stuffed-peppers/) are as colorful as they are tasty.  Have a couple for a meal or use them as a starter to some vegetarian tacos, such as this Sweet Potato and Black Bean Tacos recipe (https://www.cookingclassy.com/honey-lime-sweet-potato-black-bean-and-corn-tacos/). Or try this healthier version of an Asian classic with Cauliflower Fried Rice (https://simplysohealthy.com/easy-low-carb-cauliflower-fried-rice-recipe/). For more options, here you can find 22 Whole30 Vegetarian Recipes (https://www.purewow.com/food/vegetarian-whole30-recipes?utm_source=pinterest&utm_medium=social). And don’t worry, you don’t have to be a vegetarian to enjoy these tasteful meals. 

With the end of the holidays and the start of a New Year, now is the best time to start (or restart) eating healthy. The key is to find a diverse array of colorfully nutritious recipes so delicious, you forget they’re considered healthy. With this list of healthy eating options, you can start working off that holiday weight without sacrificing flavor.

Leave your comments

Comments

  • No comments found